Equipment Review: Best Rimmed Baking Sheets (Sheet Pans, “Jelly Roll Pans”) & Our Testing Winner



Buy our Winning Rimmed Baking Sheet: http://amzn.to/2ecz55i
Behind the Testing: http://cooks.io/2ensT7k
Full testing details and ranking chart: http://cooks.io/2enzKxJ

We tested 8 rimmed baking sheets to find the best one:
Nordic Ware Baker’s Half Sheet
Vollrath Wear-Ever Heavy Duty Sheet Pan (13 gauge)
Chicago Metallic Traditional Large Jelly Roll Pan
Nordic Ware Prism Half Sheet Baking Pan
Norpro Heavy Gauge Aluminum Jelly Roll Pan
Chicago Metallic StayFlat NSF Half-Size Sheet Pan
Island Ware Baker’s Half Sheet Pan
Fat Daddio’s ProSeries Jelly Roll Pan

A rimmed baking sheet is essential for sheet cakes and handy for cookies. But if yours is flimsy or you use it only for baking, you’re not getting your money’s worth.

We review the best (and worst) digital kitchen scales:

Curious about carbon-steel skillets? Watch our review:

WINNING TRAITS OF A GOOD RIMMED BAKING SHEET
– Tall, straight sides with defined corners
– Cooking surface measuring roughly 16½ by 11½ inches, so it fits a wire rack snugly
– Resists scratching and warping and returns to a flat state after use

WHAT WE EXAMINED

We tested eight rimmed baking sheets, all measuring roughly 18 by 13 inches from rim to rim, using each to bake a jelly roll cake and lemon sugar cookies, roast parsnips, and roast and broil chicken thighs. We evaluated how evenly the food cooked and how cleanly it released from the sheets. We also rated their handling, strength, and resistance to warping and measured the dimensions of their cooking surfaces.

BAKING: We baked a jelly roll cake and cookies in each sheet, giving higher scores for appropriately light golden-brown baked goods that baked evenly across the entirety of the cooking surface.

ROASTING: We preheated the sheets and roasted parsnips and chicken thighs on them, observing how evenly foods cooked across the entirety of the cooking surface. Those that browned and cooked foods evenly scored the highest.

WARPING: We preferred sheets that withstood high-heat ovens and rapid temperature changes with minimal warping.

HANDLING: To test comfort and ease of use, we fitted each sheet with a wire rack, prepared a mock roast (placing a 5-pound bag of our atop the rack and 1/2 cup of water underneath it), and did a lap around the test kitchen. The best sheets felt comfortable and secure in hand, with tall, straight sides that were easy to grip and helped contain liquid.

RACK COMPATIBILITY: We often use wire cooling racks inside baking sheets. We deducted points if standard-size racks moved around inside the sheets or didn’t fit inside them completely.

America’s Test Kitchen is a real 2,500 square foot test kitchen located just outside of Boston that is home to more than three dozen full-time cooks and product testers. Our mission is simple: to develop the absolute best recipes for all of your favorite foods. To do this, we test each recipe 30, 40, sometimes as many as 70 times, until we arrive at the combination of ingredients, technique, temperature, cooking time, and equipment that yields the best, most-foolproof recipe.

If you like us, follow us:
http://americastestkitchen.com
http://facebook.com/americastestkitchen

http://instagram.com/testkitchen
http://pinterest.com/testkitchen

source



LOOKING FOR THE GORGEOUS WALL DECOR IDEAS?

Great, Fun and Humorous Wall Art Decors. Digital Instant Download Files to make your home cozy and cute. Just download it and print size you need.

CHECK OUT MY ETSY STORE-->

48 comments for “Equipment Review: Best Rimmed Baking Sheets (Sheet Pans, “Jelly Roll Pans”) & Our Testing Winner

  1. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I live in the uk i don't suppose you guy have a uk version.

  2. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Nordic ware is aluminium. And aluminium is now recognised as contributing to Alzheimer's. Is there any company that makes baker's sheets in stainless steel that is maybe allclad in aluminium, or maybe has aluminium sandwiched between the stainless steel??? Thank you very much for your knowledgable reviews. Your expertise is so valued, that I csn honestly say, I rarely make a purchase without consulting you first.

  3. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    They test baking sheets, but not one damn test for toasters? And toaster ovens do not count.

  4. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I always wait with baited breath to see if I've been using the right stuff. NordicWare. I started purchasing their whole line from Home Good because it was all I could afford and Costco very often has a set of three on sale for the "holidays".

  5. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Could anyone please tell me where to find baking sheets that are made of the same type of steel as cooking pots? Every time I look for one it ends up being aluminum.
    Even if there had no health risks, I don't want the aluminum.
    The only baking pans I could find made out of the same stainless as pots are the high wall, straight or round roasters but I actually want sheet pans, full size preferably.

  6. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Got mine at Sam's Club.  Never warped after over 10+ years of solid use.  Rolled edges for stability.  Deep enough for anything I've thrown at it.  Costs about half of Nordicware.

  7. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    My Polar Ware sheet pans NEVER warped, not even slightly.

  8. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I have a dozen Nordicware pans. Excellent all around pans. Though I always bake with parchment paper or a Silpat. Plus I only use pans either for roasting veggies/meats and a set for baking.

  9. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I just got the one they recommend for Christmas! Can't wait to use it.

  10. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    what about non stick?

  11. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I'll stick with my Lodge cast iron cookie sheets. Yes, a little heavy but I'll never have to worry about them warping or wearing out.

  12. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I just bought both the Nordic Ware pan and the Libertyware rack you recommend and the rack will not fit in the pan in the 11.38" dimension.

  13. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    gotta roast them parsnips

  14. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    We examined which amazon affiliate product provided us the most income. #science

  15. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    wait, it's aluminium when i check it online …

    i think i'll pass

  16. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Who ate the food they made?

  17. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Isn't getting food in contact with aluminum considered hazardous? Besides, how do you wash aluminum sheets if they cannot be washed in a dishwasher as it would start to dissolve aluminum?

  18. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I purchased the recommended cooling racks. Do not purchase them. Read the reviews listed by the people that bought them. Very poor quality. I returned mine as many other people did. They had very sharp edges on them.

  19. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    i like metal pans that have air in between the mettal. i hate solid mettal pans. they always burn the bottom

  20. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    What about the willams sonoma goldtouch?

  21. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I use anolon bakeware as it's heavy duty with silicone grips on the handles. Cooks very well and I've had them for 10+ years now.

  22. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    These videos are so good. I don't even need most of this stuff. Btw: Lisa looks so pretty in this video!

  23. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    What do you do with all that food?

  24. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Are the links affiliate links?

  25. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Since the interior width of most ovens are less than 26" (usually 25" or less) why are half sheets 13"? You can only fit one per rack. Wouldn't it be better if they were 12" or 12.5"?

  26. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I love this woman ! Great information about products I'm interested in buying……Thank you 🙂

  27. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    When reading the reviews of the cooling racks that were recommended, they all say that these racks will rust. Any truth to this?

  28. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Hi where I live is very humid so the cooling rack that I thought was good started to rust would the liberty ware do that? And what rack is ok to bake ?

  29. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Guys, you reviewed backing pans. FUCKING BAKING PANS. You guys rock.

  30. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Ahh.. love the equipment reviews !! LOVE THE NEW HAIR, LISA!!! Woww!!

  31. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I love this gadget so to speak! lol…I baked my turkey on this last yesterday with a baking rack!!! Awesome!!! Evenly browned all the way around! 12 pound turkery on a half sheet and baking rack fit perfectly..if anybody cares… 🙂

  32. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I have 4 of those…Nordic ware half sheet pan

  33. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I have one of these. Everything sticks horribly to it no matter how much oil you use.

  34. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    please test muffin tins

  35. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    What are these pans made of? Are we not supposed to be avoiding aluminum in ALL cookware?

  36. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    what was the winner made of

  37. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    where did they find the libertyware cooling racks 15.99 for a set of 2?

  38. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Mainstays cookware from Walmart warps real bad, but you get what you pay for.

  39. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I love her! I'm always on a equipment review watching spree, it's so nice to watch, I don't know why, haha.

  40. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    how about the color of the pans? darker finish v. silver?

  41. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    these are oddly satisfying

  42. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    I have pans that rusted underneath the lips because water gets trapped in there after washing. Would the Nordic one help with that? I saw that the lip is also curled.

  43. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Been using these for over a year now, work perfectly!

  44. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    These videos are so helpful.

  45. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    You're the best Lisa!

  46. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    While I like Nordic Ware sheet pan, it's not my favorite … And I've tried them all. If give this pan a 3.5 out of five. Its heavy and a bit on the bulky side but not as bulky as Wilton's. I collect Nordic Ware pans and they're all a 5. I love them all… except this one. Sorry! 🙁

  47. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Lisa is the best! Thanks!

  48. January 4, 2019 at 8:16 am

    Thank you for this review. Love the sheet pans. Have you all reviewed the smaller pans for like 6 cookies??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *