Equipment Review: Best Blenders (Midpriced/Mid-Range) & Our Testing Winner



Buy KitchenAid 5-Speed Diamond Blender: https://cooks.io/2KGFyEB
Buy Black + Decker Performance FusionBlade Blender: https://cooks.io/2NDFm71
Behind the Testing: http://cooks.io/2saDSZM
Full testing details and ranking chart: http://cooks.io/2saV5CF

*** UPDATE JULY 9, 2018 ***

Our winning mid-priced blender, the Breville Hemisphere Control, has been discontinued, though some are still available for sale. Breville is launching a new line of blenders this fall, including a replacement for the Hemisphere. We’ll test the new model as soon as it’s available and report back with our findings. In the meantime, we recommend our runner up, the KitchenAid 5-Speed Diamond Blender for those who want to make blended drinks, soups, and thicker recipes like almond butter, or our winning inexpensive blender, the Black + Decker Performance FusionBlade Blender, for those looking to just make blender drinks, soups, and thinner recipes.

***

We tested 7 midpriced blenders to find the best blender (listed in alphabetical order):
Braun PureMix
Breville the Hemisphere Control
Cuisinart Hurricane 2.25 Peak HP Blender
Cuisinart Hurricane Pro 3.5 Peak HP Blender
KitchenAid 5-Speed Diamond Blender
Nutri Ninja Ninja BlendMAX DUO
Oster Versa Pro Performance Blender with Tamper 1400 Watts

What are the best blenders out there? From burnt-out motors to cracked pitchers and smoothies that aren’t smooth, most midpriced blenders are a bust. Luckily, in our latest blender review, we found one you can count on.

We review gas grills under $500:

Need to buy a new food processor? Watch our review:

WINNING TRAITS OF A GOOD MIDPRICED TOP-RATED BLENDER
– Powerful, durable motor
– Well-designed blade that results in optimal food circulation
– Well-designed jar that requires few or no scrape-downs
– Reasonably quiet motor
– Clear, logical control panel

WHAT WE EXAMINED
We tested seven blenders, priced from $159.99 to $285.00, rating them on their ability to perform various tasks. We also evaluated each blender on how easy it was to operate and clean. We measured the diameter of each jar at the midpoint. We used a tachometer to measure how fast each blender’s blades turned on the lowest setting and a decibel meter to measure how loud each was.

SMOOTHIES: We made kale, pineapple, and orange juice smoothies in each model. The best made completely smooth smoothies while incorporating minimal air.

CRUSHED ICE: The best models quickly turned ice into fluffy white snow with minimal scraping.

MAYONNAISE: We evaluated each model’s ability to blend small amounts of eggs and oil into mayonnaise, measuring the efficiency of its lowest speed and the functionality and usefulness of the hole in the top of its lid, through which we poured the oil while the blender was running; the best models produced a smooth and creamy sauce on the first try.

ALMOND BUTTER: Models that were able to produce smooth butter from whole almonds with minimal scraping or overheating rated highest.

EASE OF USE: We rated each blender on how logical and intuitive its controls were, as well as how maneuverable the jar and the blender itself were. We also evaluated how easy it was to clean.

NOISE: We noted how loud the blenders were throughout testing and measured their noise levels with a decibel meter, noting a range of roughly 80 decibels (comparable to the dial tone of a telephone) to 103 decibels (comparable to a lawn mower). Those that stayed under 100 decibels rated highest.

ABOUT US: Located in Boston’s Seaport District in the historic Innovation and Design Building, America’s Test Kitchen features 15,000 square feet of kitchen space including multiple photography and video studios. It is the home of Cook’s Illustrated magazine and Cook’s Country magazine and is the workday destination for more than 60 test cooks, editors, and cookware specialists. Our mission is to test recipes over and over again until we understand how and why they work and until we arrive at the best version.

If you like us, follow us:
http://cooksillustrated.com
http://facebook.com/cooksillustrated

http://instagram.com/cooksillustrated
http://pinterest.com/testkitchen

source




LOOKING FOR THE GORGEOUS WALL DECOR IDEAS?


Great, Fun and Humorous Wall Art Decors. Digital Instant Download Files to make your home cozy and cute.

Just download it and print size you need.

25 comments for “Equipment Review: Best Blenders (Midpriced/Mid-Range) & Our Testing Winner

  1. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Any reviews for juicer..🙏🙏🙏

  2. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Actually I don't think it was discontinued, they just rebranded it to Breville BBL620 Fresh & Furious Blender

  3. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    East n west ninja is the Best

  4. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    I'll go ahead and spend the the money for a good Vitamix mixer made here in the US in my home state of Ohio.

  5. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    I had no idea people take blenders that seriously 😬I def not a top chef n wouldn’t know the difference anyways.. I went to Walmart and randomly looked at the Blenders..I sure liked the button features on the appliances. It’s something that felt good by touch and I payed attention to. I’m sure if I went to a fancy cooking school I’d have a diff perception too!! Either way so interesting.. 👍

  6. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Best test kitchen reviewer. The other guys don't quite have the vibe she has

  7. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    How did the new model from breville stack up?

  8. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm
  9. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    We should be giving a list of the 7 blenders and then the ranking that they came in from first to last not this is the best blender

  10. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Breville the Hemisphere Control is not available anymore. Discontinued.

  11. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Maybe I’m just over nerdy researchy but I keep checking back hoping you guys will do a update to this video. You can’t even buy this top rated blender anymore new. There is a new similar Breville but I read reviews and they say it’s not as good. 😞 Pretty please do an update on midprice blenders for 2019. Maybe I’ll just keep saving for the vitamix as I stare sadly into my 5 year old magic bullet as it whirs angrily, smells of burnt plastic and spits out sad little pseudo smoothies. 😞 (don’t judge, it was a gift)

  12. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Oh! I see my blender there. But I picked it off the top 7 blenders list from Healthy Kitchen 101. People worry so much about having a high-powered blender that they spend too much money. It’s kind of ridiculous to me. Like having a monster truck when all you need is a Civic.

  13. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Where's the test for poor people who will store the blender away and forget they own it 11 months out of the year?

  14. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Cleanblend costs less than Breville, yet performs almost on the level of 400 dollar plus Blendtec and Vitamix

  15. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    I’ve never owned a blender that performed well. I guess I never spent enough money. But $200 seems steep.

  16. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    I'm looking to invest in a good cooking blender to make purees, crush ice, blend hot soups, and make smoothies. In other words that can do it all with no problem. Did you test the Ninja it has 3 blades. If so how did it do?
    thanks so much for responding

  17. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Brevell Hemisphere control. Is the best?

  18. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    So which brand is the best?

  19. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Lisa is the best! No nonsense, clear and concise!

  20. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    fuck blenders are so fucking cool fuck yeeeeee

  21. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    My BLENDTECH does all this and even makes hot tortilla soup. I bought it refurbished 7 years ago, works like a champ!

  22. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    I bought the Breville Hemisphere Blender based on ATK recommendation and took it back. I made protein shakes with ice and banana and milk the thickness of a chocolate shake youd get at a Wendys or Red Robin and Breville Hemisphere Blender COULDNT DO IT WITHOUT SHUTTING OFF BECAUSE THE MOTOR WOULD OVERHEAT. AFTER BLENDING, WAITING UNTIL THE OVERHEAT LIGHT WENT OFF, REPEATING UNTIL FINISHED…I FINALLY GOT FED UP AND RETURNED IT. IM GOING TO SPEND THE EXTRA MONEY ON A VITAMIX.

  23. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    Why did you recommend Black + Decker Performance FusionBlade Blender as a replacement which wasn't in your testing list?

  24. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    $200? Wtf? I thought low-priced was $15-$20 and midpriced was $30. Wtf is $200, That's more than quadruple what I would consider "high-end". A couple more of those and you could literally get a working automobile instead.

  25. October 11, 2019 at 4:34 pm

    I have, no had the winning blender and it's not good. Very dissatisfied. Go for a Ninja or something. My Breville lasted 3 years. Didn't make very smooth drinks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *